Compact Discs


Music From The Original Soundtrack
(Final Release)

Series Created By Rockne S. O'Bannon

Music From Seasons One And Two
By SubVision and Guy Gross

GNPD 8068
GNP Crescendo Records

Liner Notes:

Scientist/Astronaut John Crichton beings an interplanetary trek when his experimental vehicle is thrust through a wormhole into a massive offensive waged by an alien race of mercenaries called "Peacekeepers." After pirating a "living" prison ship named Moya, Crichton and a group of escaped prisoners travel through the uncharted territories. This impromptu band of rebels encounters exotic lands and extraordinary civilizations as Crichton tries to find a way back to Earth - discovering that he is farther from home than he ever dreamed possible.

"The original design of FARSCAPE as a series was to be, at once, emotional, evocative, diverse and distinctive. Finding composers to execute this vision musically was a hugely important piece of the puzzle. Never did we expect to discover two such talents -- each special in their/his own way. We hope that the tracks included here provide you with as much enjoyment as they have us."
      Rockne S. O'Bannon and David Kemper

Series Executive Producers: Rockne S. O'Bannon, Brian Henson, David Kemper, Kris Noble, Robert Halmi Jr.

Produced by: Matt Carroll (Season One), Sue Milliken (Season Two)

Starring Ben Browder, Claudia Black, Virginia Hey, Anthony Simcoe, Gigi Edgley, Lani Tupu

FARSCAPE from The Jim Henson Company and Nine Network Australia in association with Hallmark Entertainment.

    Chris Neal
    Toby Neal
    Braedy Neal

The team works out of a three-studio complex in Sydney, Australia, specializing in film and TV drama scores, songwriting and pop/dance music production for Europe, the USA and Southeast Asia. The theme from FARSCAPE features the voice of Avigail Herman and guitars by Steve Edwards. The rest of the instrumentation and orchestration is by the Subvision team. They also share the engineering and production credits.

Season One - Music By SubVision
(Chris Neal, Braedy Neal and Toby Neal)

    1. Theme From FARSCAPE 2:04

    2. Wormhole! 5:18

Back And Back And Back To The Future
    3. Time Trouble 3:07

Thank God It's Friday, Again
    4. Tannot Grooves 3:02
    5. Fields Of Joy 2:47

PK Tech Girl
    6. Goodbye 4:01

Thank Old Black Magic
    7. Maldis 3:32

DNA Mad Scientist
    8. Namtar's Magic 3:45

Rhapsody In Blue
    9. Delvian Dreams 3:32

Jeremiah Crichton
    10. Trouble In Paradise 4:56

Family Ties
    11. Parting Comrades 3:28

Season Two - Music By Guy Gross

The Way We Weren't
    12. Pilot Arrives 1:31
    13. Aeryn And Velorek 2:43
    14. Peace Keeping 3:28

Home On The Remains
    15. The Nogelti Crystal 2:14
    16. Romance 2:12

Look At The Princess Part III: The Maltese Crichton
    17. Crichton's Daughter 2:34

My Three Crichtons
    18. Crichton x3 1:24
    19. Goodbye Caveman 2:46

Beware Of Dog
    20. Vorc Arrives 2:54
    21. Parasite Hunting 5:02

Look At The Princess Part II: I Do I Think
    22. Crichton's Wedding 1:30

    23. Theme From FARSCAPE - Reprise 0:48

Guy Gross

Farscape is a composer's dream come true. It calls for a musical feast from the sublime to the ridiculous. A typical Farscape episode contains sequences from the wonderfully bombastic to the subtlety intimate and everything in between. In the "Uncharted Territories" there's no such thing as too much - in either musical direction.

Classically trained, I'm best known for my orchestral approach to film scoring albeit often created with samplers. My writing approach is very much dialogue driven.

I really enjoy weaving in and around the ups and downs of the spoken word. And as the performances are so great it's a wonderful source of inspiration. I'm also not afraid to call upon the classic genre of science fiction scoring. I find when I deviate too far from the "expected" it draws the viewers attention away from the story telling which must be paramount in everybody's contribution to the film.

I first got involved in Farscape when I scored the original 3 minute US trailer. The producers asked me to join the team a few episodes into the second series and I've been loving it ever since.

I hope the fans enjoy my contribution and allow it to draw them into the uncharted world of Farscape.

        Guy Gross

Executive Album Producer For The Jim Henson Company: Michael Polis
Executive In Charge of Production for GNP - Crescendo: Neil Norman
Project Coordinators: Ford A. Thaxton and Mark Banning
Album Produced by Ford A. Thaxton
Digitally Edited and Mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland
CD Art Direction: Mark Banning

Tracks 1-12 Composed by SubVision
Chris Neal - Composer/Producer/Arranger
Braedy Neal - Composer/Producer/Arranger/Digital Audio Engineer
Toby Neal - Composer/Producer/Arranger/Sampling Engineer/DJ
Vocalist on FARSCAPE Main Title - Avigail Herman
Additional Guitars - Steve Edwards
All Tracks APRA

Tracks 13-23 Composed by Guy Gross
Orchestrated, Performed, Mixed and Produced by Guy Gross
Composers Assistants: Sondra Clarke, Aaron Symonds
Technical Supervisor: Simon Leadley
Music Published by: Mushroom Music Publishing APRA

Special Thanks to Michael Polis, Vicki Treger, Rockne S. O'Bannon, Brian Henson, David Kemper and the rest of the good people at The Jim Henson Company, Chris Neal, Braedy Neal, Toby Neal, Guy Gross

2000 The Jim Henson Company. All Rights Reserved.
Artwork © 2000 The Jim Henson Company. All Rights Reserved.
FARSCAPE and all related characters and elements are trademarks of The Jim Henson Company. © 2000
Manufactured by GNP-Crescendo Record Co., Inc.
8480-A Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood, CA 90069 • e-mail:
Write For Free Catalog
Visit the official FARSCAPE website at

UPC: 0-5282-48068-2-5

Music From The Original Soundtrack
(Advance Promotion)

Advance copies of the Farscape soundtrack CD were distributed in 2000 as part of a marketing promotion. The advance copies include the same disk as the final version; they also use the same front cover design, differing only in the printing quality and the disk number (the final release is numbered GNPD 8068, while the advance promotion release is numbered GNPD-PRO 8068).

Rather than a full booklet of liner notes inside the jewelcase, a single sheet folded in half lists the track titles and lengths; these two interior "pages" are simply a black and white version of the track listings from the final released version of the liner notes.

The back of the folded track listings sheet is a collage image of several characters.

The rear cover of the case is quite different from the final release. As on the front cover, a different catalog number is referenced (GNPD-PRO 8068). There is no UPC number or barcode. Additionally, a small hole is punched through the lower righthand corner of the case back, to ensure the copy won't enter the retail market, and the cover's text includes the restriction "Advance Promotional Copy. Not for Commercial Sale".

Comments, corrections, and contributions can be addressed to: